manhwa review, shoujo manhwa

Manhwa Review: Dictatorship

-Story-

It was inevitable that they’d meet by chance.

Bam!

He’s a desert,
a violent beast,
and the Sultan’s heir, someone more important than everyone else and yet still acknowledged by nobody.

He owns her for one year, but is trying to keep her forever.

“Friedrich Dürrenmatt once said, ‘It is only in love and murder that we still remain sincere.’ Since you’re still alive, does that mean I love you?” says the man that’s done with playing hide and seek, Ashan.

“Oh my, that’s a scary confession. There isn’t anything in the contract about having to spend the night here though,” says the woman trying to escape, Seoyoon.

Raws | Official English
Title:Dictatorship, 독재
Type:Korean Manhwa
Released:2021
Artist: Ullpe
Author: 김신형

-Review-

Bruh. This is such batty manhwa right here. I feel like the story itself is not bad premise wise, but oml the characters??? If they were real people, I would stay as far as away as possible. The MC is…unfortunate, and the ML is very crazy. Like I know they’ll end together, but I can’t help but help for this manhwa to have a tragic ending.

Story: The story follows a MC who has been discharged from the Afgan war. Because her father keeps piling debts, she ends up taking a dangerous job in another country as a prince’s bodyguard. The prince (the ML) is very violent and kills people who make him angry… which leads to the characters.

Characters: I’ll skip the MC since I think she’s kind of boring. The ML proceeds to kill people around him, because he’s always targeted by assassins on all sides. It makes sense that he’s always on edge, but the fact that he’s tried to kill the MC multiple times in the last 29 chapters is kinda a turn-off for me. I don’t understand how a love can sprout from this kind of extreme toxic relationship… But alas, it’s a manhwa. Anything can happen UU

Art: The art is fine. It’s just the characters that sometimes make the art a little unbearable to read. Otherwise it’s something to pass time.

I’m definitely biased against this manhwa. Please don’t let me judgement cloud your own read! But I speaketh truth!

Rating: 6/10
~TempBanana

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.